University of Alberta

The University of Alberta , home to 18 faculties and more than 39,000 students, is recognized as one of Canada’s leading universities. It is located in Edmonton, the capital of the province of Alberta. The university has 5 campuses and houses Canada’s second largest research library.

The Wirth Institute for Austrian and Central European Studies (University of Alberta) is an important partner of the University of Innsbruck. It started as “Canadian Centre for Austrian and Central European Studies” and was established through a joint initiative of the Austrian Federal Ministry of Science and Research, the Austrian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and the Austrian Conference of University Presidents. In 2003, it was renamed Wirth Institute for Austrian and Central European Studies in recognition of its most generous sponsor. Its general mandate is to provide support – throughout Canada – in questions and research matters related to Austria. The Wirth Institute is currently headed by Dr. Alexander Carpenter.

Study programs

The exchange program is open to students of all disciplines (students of the University of Innsbruck School of Management should apply via the International Economic and Business Studies Office).


Fall term: beginning of September to end of December

Winter term: beginning of January to end of April

Students can apply for one term or a full academic year.


Attention: No spots available in the academic year 2023/24!


Current exchange students share their experiences: Wörter J.Kraus D.

Past exchange students share their experiences: to the archive


Applications must be submitted to the

Canadian Studies Centre

Mag. Dr. Doris Eibl


Further information on studying at the UofA:

International Student Guide

Nach oben scrollen