Successful IEEE eScience 2021 Conference

The FZ HPC, together with the DPS group at the Department of Computer Science, organized a very successful IEEE eScience 2021 conference from September 20-23, 2021. Though held virtually due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, it was a highly productive event with more than 150 attendees.
eScience 2021

The 17th IEEE International eScience Conference (eScience 2021), co-organized by the FZ HPC, was held as an online conference from September 20 to 23, 2021, bringing together leading interdisciplinary research communities, developers, and users of eScience applications and enabling IT technologies.

Some of the main highlights of the conference included:

  • Four exciting keynotes given by Sylvie Joussaume, Craig Prunty, Alexander Ostermann, and Modesto Orozco (
  • 33 top-quality papers and abstracts presented in topics ranging from scientific information extraction, data science on hybrid clouds, analysis of research artifacts, models for different domain sciences (earthquakes, water quality forecasting, meme detection, cyber water, climate simulations, drug discovery), big data analysis, social media analysis, historical text analysis, scientific workflows, machine learning, and more.
  • a special panel that reflects Open Science - Open Data (, with Christine L. Borgman, Luke Drury, Carole Goble, Karel Luyben, and Victoria Rampin; moderated by Daniel S. Katz
  • 4 dedicated infrastructure for eScience sessions with talks given by 19 distinguished speakers
  • 22 posters
  • 2 workshops (ReWorDS and FAIReScience,
  • 7 tutorials (

General Chair

Thomas Fahringer, University of Innsbruck, Austria

Program Chairs

Erwin Laure, Max-Planck Computing and Data Facility, Garching, Germany
Sinead Ryan, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Publication Chair

Erwin Laure, Max-Planck Computing and Data Facility, Garching, Germany

Publicity and Web Chairs

Philipp Gschwandtner, University of Innsbruck, Austria
Rafael Ferreira da Silva, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Workshop Chairs

Flavio Vella, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
Michela Taufer, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA

Tutorial Chairs

Peter Thoman, University of Innsbruck, Austria
Kento Sato, RIKEN R-CCS, Kobe, Japan

Poster Chair

Carsten Trinitis, Technical University Munich, Germany

Local Chairs

Philipp Gschwandtner, University of Innsbruck, Austria
Peter Thoman, University of Innsbruck, Austria

Industry Chair

Sai Narasimhamurthy, Seagate Technology, Maidenhead, UK

Finance Chairs

Manuela Resch, University of Innsbruck, Austria
Silvia Bosetti-Haid, University of Innsbruck, Austria

Technical Program Committee


Nach oben scrollen