Innsbruck Doctoral College Mountain Climate and Environment (IDC MCE)


Dr. Fabien Maussion (Department of Atmospheric and Cryospheric Sciences)

Deputy Head

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Gina Elaine Moseley (Department of Geology

Coordinating Student

Paul Töchterle (Department of Geology)


Mountains are highly complex barriers to atmospheric flow and modify it accordingly while creating a wide range of environmental gradients on short spatio-temporal scales that do not exist in any other region. By combining a wide range of expertise in atmospheric, cryospheric, biospheric, hydrospheric, atmospheric-chemical, geomorphodynamic and paleoclimate sciences at the UIBK, the doctoral programme seeks to make major steps forward in (a) identifying, understanding, and quantifying climate processes, past climate variability, and future climate-induced changes to the environment at appropriate spatiotemporal scales in the Alps, (b) herewith providing a thorough basis for impact and adaptation studies, (c) perform physical science-based studies and (d) developing tools to be appropriately adapted in other mountain regions.

Faculty Members

Faculty of Biology

> Department of Ecology

  • assoz. Prof. Dr. Georg Wohlfahrt

Faculty of Geo- and Atmospheric Sciences

> Department of Atmospheric and Cryospheric Sciences

  • Dr. Nikolina Ban
  • assoz. Prof. Dr. Alexander Gohm
  • Mag. Dr. Martin Graus
  • Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Thomas Karl
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Georg Kaser
  • PhD Fabien Maussion
  • ao. Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr.Georg Mayr
  • PhD Lindsey Nicholson
  • Ass.-Prof. Dr. Friedrich Obleitner
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Mathias Rotach
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ivana Stiperski

> Department of Geography

  • a.o. Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Kurt Nicolussi

> Department of Geology

  • Dr. Gina Moseley
  • Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Christoph Spötl

Student Members

  • Matthias Dusch
  • Maren Haid
  • Charlotte Honiat
  • Johannes Horak
  • Philipp Kneringer
  • Christian Lamprecht
  • Moritz Lang
  • Arianna Peron
  • Tanguy Racine
  • Maria Siller
  • Gaspard Simonet
  • Mojgan Soleimani
  • Stefan Stöckl
  • Paul Töchterle
  • Lukas Umek
  • Annelies Voordendag
  • Maria Wind
  • Anna Wirbel 



1669 Wissenschafft Gesellschafft
Nach oben scrollen