University of Innsbruck

Prizes, Grants and Internships is Austria’s biggest online database for scholarships and research grants for all academic areas. Financial support options for students, graduates and researchers range from classical grants and scholarships, allowances and prizes to extensive national, European and international research support programmes.

Fulbright Austria invites interested candidates to apply for the Fulbright Scholarship for the academic year 2024/25.

The Fulbright Scholarship is aimed at Austrians who have already completed their first degree and are pursuing a Master's degree (one to two-year programmes) in the United States. In addition to a scholarship worth up to USD 35,000 and possible additional funding from US institutions, successful candidates have the opportunity to participate in numerous academic and cultural events before and during their stay in the USA and, as Fulbrighters, are part of a worldwide community that encompasses all academic disciplines and cultures.

Fulbright Austria is looking for candidates who, through their personal attitude and career plans, want to contribute to the fulfilment of the Commission's mandate "the promotion of mutual understanding between the peoples of Austria and the United States of America". In this sense, the selection process takes into account not only the academic achievements of the applicants but also their professional experience and social commitment.

The deadline for applications for the academic year 2024/25 is 1 May 2023.

Questions about the application process can be directed at any time by email to Darrah Lustig ( Further information on the application process as well as a link to the application can be found on the Fulbright Austria website:

The Digital Science Center (DiSC) solicits applications for the Award for Digitalization Research 2023 (short: DiSC Award 2023) which is issued in cooperation with sponsoring company BE-terna.

Early-stage researchers from any scientific discipline at the University of Innsbruck are eligible for the award. It is bestowed on candidates whose final academic thesis received excellent grades and demonstrates a clear relation to research in the field of digitalization, either with regard to methods or content.

The following types of theses may be submitted:

  • Master‘s theses or Diplom theses; prize money: €500.
  • Doctoral theses; prize money: €1000.

Applicants must be nominated by their main supervisor. Each main supervisor may nominate at most one thesis per category. Application documents may be submitted in German or English. The application deadline is 3 April 2023.

See the following website for more information and application documents:

Contact: Carina König

+43 512 507-39750

At the University of Innsbruck, seed funding for the development and advancement of prototypes is funded by the Förderkreis 1669 of the University of Innsbruck.

Through this funding, the Förderkreis aims to contribute to an increase in the commercial exploitation opportunities of research results with economic potential.

More information at: 1669 Prototype Development 2023

The prize is awarded for outstanding scientific achievements on one or more of the following topics:

  • Understanding the foundations, functioning and basic values of the Austrian Republic/Democracy
  • Importance of tolerance concerning the discourse on politics, art and social development
  • International and/or European dimension of the respective issue
  • Consideration of opportunities and strengths, but also challenges and reforms of parliamentary democracy and its institutions in Austria
  • Stimulus for a broader discussion on these topics in the public sphere

Submitted publications/dissertations should not be older than three years. Nominations are possible up to and including 15 June 2023.

The prize, which is being awarded for the tenth time this year, is endowed with € 21,000 and can be divided between up to two applicants. The award winners are selected by the Foundation's Board of Trustees on the basis of a jury proposal.

The Science Prize is awarded every two years. The Science Award 2021 went in equal parts to the political scientists Ulrich Brand and Johannes Pollak and to the lawyer Thomas Olechowski.

Documents are published at or can be requested via

The interdisciplinary Center for French Studies aims to promote scientific cooperation and academic exchange between the University of Innsbruck and French universities, colleges and research institutions. The Center gives researchers and teachers of the LFUI the opportunity to invite colleagues from France to Innsbruck or to spend some time in France themselves.

Subsidies: These are awarded on an ongoing basis according to available budgetary resources. Funding is provided for bilateral research projects, guest lectures and conferences, meetings to initiate projects, etc. for all faculties, departments and disciplines. The application must be submitted by the scientists of Innsbruck University via the form on the website of the Center:

For further information, please contact the staff of the Center directly (  or phone: 0512/507-39100).

Scientific works (exposés as well as completed scientific works) on the topic of family businesses in several categories are promoted:

Key data for the award announcement:

  • Call for entries: Feb. 10, 2023
  • Closing date: May 31, 2023
  • Notification of award winners: Summer 2023
  • Award: Autumn 2023

For more information, please visit