Mycological Collection

Mycological Collection - mycologists

Meinhard M. Moser (1924-2002) was known throughout the world for his expertise in mycology. His exceptional knowledge of these fungi, in particular of Cortinariaceae, and his numerous publications have influenced modern taxonomic concepts in the Agaricales. More than 2000 vouchers come from the original collecting sites of Elias Fries around Femsjö, Sweden. Meinhard M. Moser collected about 25.000 vouchers of fungi and defined about 500 type collections from Europe, South- and North America and Asia.

Reinhold Pöder (1948-2015) was an expert in Boletales taxonomy and described several new species of Basidio- and Ascomycetes. ‘Bodo’ was a passionate and profound mycologist with a large knowledge of fungal systematics, taxonomy, evolutionary and developmental biology (incl. toxicological and ethnomycological tasks); symbiotic relationships of fungi (e.g., ectomycorrhizae).

Ursula Peintner  (1966-) has been working as a mycologist at the University of Innsbruck since 1991. She has barcoded most of the type collections and numerous other reference vouchers of the mycological collection. Her taxonomic expertise is in the field of fungi from alpine and arctic habitats, and she is especially interested in a global perspective of Cortinarius.

Further contributions of fungal vouchers come from Kurt Haselwandter, Franz Schinner (more than 1000 records of Myxomycetes, collected between 1975-1987), Martin Kirchmair and Sigrid Neuhauser.

Nach oben scrollen