Universität Innsbruck


Martin Ohrwalder Anna Hotter Cenk Dogan Klaus Förster Lorenz Winkler Patricia Rietzler Andi Fetz Dominic Wild Jonas Egeter Martin Meraner Bernd Geiger Hannes Fetz Benjamin Lampert Christoph Pfister Philipp Ossanna Philipp Sonderegger Heidi Erler Mimi Schmid

UniBigBand Innsbruck

The UniBigBand (UBB) of the University of Innsbruck (Austria) was founded by avid Ziupa. Unhappy with the fact that, as a young medical student, he had no hance of playing jazz anywhere in Innsbruck, he single-handedly started looking or musicians and a bandleader. He found some and the first rehearsal was led by artin Ohrwalder in a small seminar room in January 2004. After long negotiations ith the university the big band was offered the chance to rehearse in a proper all. Since then, the band regularly enforces its musical skills under the irection of Martin Ohrwalder.

Since 2005 the big band is officially integrated into the university’s rganisational structure as a course with the didactic goal of musical and ultural personal furtherment as well as orchestral social competence in the area f (contemporary) popular and jazz music. Martin Ohrwalder was given a teaching osition and Lorenz Winkler has been employed as the tutor.

Since then the band has been aiming to gradually improve its musical level and ffer international students from diverse faculties a rewarding balance to veryday university life. A declared goal of the UBB is to provide students of all aculties with an intersection between academics and musical culture. This ultural symbiosis of art and research has already been successfully implemented ithin the scope of the university and is already yielding fruit.


  • Lead: Martin Ohrwalder (trp), Philipp Osanna (git)
  • Saxes: Anna Hotter (ts), Cenk Dogan (as), Klaus Förster (ts), Lorenz Winkler (bar), Martin Illecker (as), Patricia Rietzler (as)
  • Trumpets: Andi Fetz, Dominic Wild, Jonas Egeter, Martin Meraner
  • Trombones: Bernd Geiger, Hannes Fetz (bpos), Markus Klotz, Paul Klepeisz
  • Rhythm: Benjamin Lampert (b), Christoph Pfister (dr), Philipp Ossanna (git) Philipp Sonderegger (p), Valentin Dietrich (b)
  • Gesang: Heidi Erler, Mimi Schmid


Logo Unibigband Innsbruck


Subscribe to RSS feed

Nach oben scrollen