International Conference on
Quantum Optics 2020
February 23 - February 29, 2020, Obergurgl, Tirol, Austria


Invited Speakers
How to get there

Innsbruck Physics - Research Center University Innsbruck


Author: Helmut Ritsch
Last update: 1-01-2019

Jörg Schmiedmayer (TU Vienna)

Hanns-Christoph Nägerl (University of Innsbruck)
Helmut Ritsch (University of Innsbruck)

Application closed

Scientific Board:
Markus Arndt, Rainer Blatt, Hans J. Briegel, Rudolf Grimm,
Andreas Läuchli, Barbara Kraus, Hanns-Christoph Nägerl, Tracy E. Northup,
Arno Rauschenbeutel, Helmut Ritsch, Jörg Schmiedmayer,
Philip Walther, Anton Zeilinger, Peter Zoller

Local organizing team:
Helmut Ritsch, Hanns-Christoph Nägerl,
Nicole Jorda

This longstanding (since 1984) biannual conference brings together outstanding researchers and young scientists in Quantum Optics, Quantum Gases and Quantum Information in a high-level environment to present and discuss the recent most exciting developments and highlights in a stimulating environment.

The conference is cosponsored by the University of Innsbruck, the Austrian Science Fund FWF via the Spezialforschungsbereich BeyondC and Austrian Academy of Sciences via the Erwin Schrödinger Center for Quantum Science ESQ .

We acknowledge support from M SQUARED LASERS, RADIANT DYES LASER and TOPTICA.


Obergurgl is located in the Ötztal in Tyrol (the 3300 years old mummy "Oetzi the Iceman" was named after the valley and was found in a glacier close to that place). It is a prominent skiing resort in winter and a nice and relaxing alpine resort in summer. The conference will be held at the University Centre Obergurgl, which is associated with the University of Innsbruck.

Lectures will be held in the morning and in the afternoon, with an extended lunch break allowing enough time for discussions and outdoor activities during the day.

There will be the opportunity to contribute talks or posters, which the scientific board will select from the applications. The posters will be presented in two evening sessions A  and B.

Picture of 2020 Participants - see you all at the next meeting 20.2-26.2.2022 :