Change languages


Why free software


Get it

Start it



Credits and Press

Development History


Follow @tuxtrans



tuxtrans and Languages

In tuxtrans (16.04) we have integrated three languages or locales, i.e. the languages for the user interface of the system and for most of the standard applications: English, German, Spanish. Obviously, you may work with or translate any language pair you want, but the user interface is available by default only in these languages; i.e. tuxtrans comes with all necessary language packages for these locales installed.

English is the default locale (en-us). You may change this to any of the other three languages by going into the settings menu "Settings | Languages" and selecting the "Language for menus and windows":

A message could appear that language support is not completely installed, this is intended behavior since we left out some big help files in other languages (Gimp, Libreoffice, KDE-localization) to save place. You may install missing packages or leave them alone.

Just drag your preferred language to the top of the list and click on "Apply System-Wide".

change language add language

In this window you may also add other languages by selecting "Install / Remove Languages" provided you have access to the internet.

Log out, and log in again. Check your locale and system language by choosing "System | Verify Locale".

verify locale

All standard applications should also change their interface language. Start up the web browser firefox and check the interface language, do this with OmegaT in the Translation menu or with LibreOffice in the Office menu. All should appear in the new system language.

You may need to change the interface language in LibreOffice by selecting Extra | Options | Linguistic features| user interface.

See also our Italian guide on how to configure languages in tuxtrans as presented in a recent workshop: wstuxtrans-lingue.pdf 750k.