Bio and Nano Physics group. From left: Daniel Mayer, Michele Caraglio, Charlotte Petersen, Gerhard Jung, Luigi Zanovello, Lukas Schrack, Oleksandr Chepizhko, Thomas Franosch and Stephan Freythaler.

Head of Research Group

Thomas Franosch

Prof. Dr. Thomas Franosch

Professor of Theoretical Physics

 Room 2S04 ITP

  +43 512 507 52267


 Administrative Assistant

Nicole Jorda

Nicole Jorda

 Room 2S18 ITP

  +43 512 507 52208



Chepizhko Oleksandr

Oleksandr Chepizhko, PhD


 Room 2S06 ITP

  +43 512 507 52268


Michele Caraglio, PhD


 Room 2S06 ITP

  +43 512 507 52273 




PhD Students

Harpreet Kaur

Harpreet Kaur, MSc

PhD Student

 Room 2S03 ITP

  +43 512 507 52238

Daniel Mayer

Daniel Mayer, MSc

PhD Student

 Room 2S03 ITP

  +43 512 507 52273




© group picture: ITP/B. Laimer, portraits: ITP/B. Laimer & IQOQI/M. R. Knabl

Master Students

Francesco Di Trapani

Stephan Freythaler

Thomas Kiechl

Philip Pfahl

Regina Teresa Rusch




Do you want to join our group? We are currently looking for interested students at all levels. Topics are available! For more information please contact Prof. Dr. Thomas Franosch and see open positions.



Gerhard Jung, Dr., Laboratoire Charles Coulomb at the Université de Montpellier

Charlotte Petersen, PhD, Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology at The University of Queensland 

Luigi Zanovello, PhD student, currently at the Universtiy of Trento

Christina Kurzthaler, PhD on leave to Howard Stone's group at  Princeton University

Dr. Suvendu Mandal, currently in the group of Hartmut Löwen at Heinrich Heine Universität Düsseldorf

Sebastian Leitmann, PhD

Simon Lang, PhD

Lukas Schrack, PhD

Jonas Nussdorfer, MSc

Luca Pizzagalli, MSc

Nicola Schmidt, MSc

Thomas Schwab, MSc

Martin Zobernig, BSc

Victor Wenin, BSc

Simon Brunner, BSc

Ben Silwa, BSc

Leah Rank, BSc

Andre Gladbach, BSc


Nach oben scrollen