Team Teaching

Team Teaching is piloted (implemented) for Universität Innsbruck in the Aurora context and is understood as a cooperative teaching/learning method in which two or more lecturers jointly plan a course (create a syllabus, formulate learning outcomes, choose didactics/methods, etc.), implement and evaluate (the students' performance). The lecturers jointly take responsibility for the success of the course and jointly reflect on the assessment of their teaching by the students - keyword evaluation - and their contribution to the qualification profile of the graduates. This qualification profile will be conceptually structured and defined within the Aurora Competence Framework, which is yet to be developed.

The lecturers come from different Aurora universities, but at least from different disciplines of Universität Innsbruck. This helps to enable diversity of perspectives and methods (e.g. theory - practice), but above to enable interdisciplinarity and, if possible, diversity.

Opposing (professional) positions can inspire students to participate more actively and think independently, especially if the team is also balanced in terms of gender, ethnicity, and age.

At its best, Team Teaching can combine the strengths of the lecturers involved and compensate for weaknesses.

The use of Team Teaching can have a positive effect on students in respect of support and learning success, especially in the context of courses with a limited number of participants or within the “interactive” formats. However, even in the pilot phase (implementation), the use of Team Teaching should not be limited to these formats from the outset. The culture of discussion facilitated by Team Teaching and the ”activating features“ of Team Teaching increase the attention of students and thus contribute to the quality of teaching and learning as well as to individualization.

Delimitation Team Teaching – Course with multiple lecturers

The differentiation between Team Teaching and courses with the participation of several lecturers is mainly given by the fact that the following descriptive characteristics are always fulfilled in the context of Team Teaching, while courses with several lecturers fulfill these characteristics only gradually, if at all.

Descriptive characteristics

Team Teaching

Course with  multiple lecturers

Joint conceptualization

     ×

Joint implementation & attendance

     ×

Joint supervision and grading of students

   

( )

Shared responsibility for success/failure and evaluation of the course

   

( )

Explanation:         = fulfilled     ( ) = not necessarily fulfilled           × = not fulfilled
The Lecturer Team

As a rule, the lecturer team shall consist of 2 and in exceptional cases of more, but not more than 6 lecturers.

The lecturers should come from different faculties, but at least from different disciplines.
This is also to enable diversity of perspectives and methods (e.g. theory and practice), but above all to enable interdisciplinarity (diversity). Therefore, it is also unavoidable that with increasing size of the team, at least from 4 lecturers on, it is composed in a balanced way with regard to socio-economic and socio-cultural aspects (e.g. gender, ethnic origin, age).

Attendance of the lecturers/team-members

If the team consists of two lecturers, they usually attend together 100% of all course units and conduct the course together.

In the exceptional cases in which a team consists of more than two lecturers, an aliquot division is made (2/x, x corresponds to the number of lecturers in the team), whereby at least two members of the team must always be present during a course unit.

On the one hand, this serves as a (temporal) basis for ensuring clarity of goals and methods, division of tasks, clarification of competencies, clarity of assessment and clarity of rules, and on the other hand, as evidence of the fundamental willingness to work together constantly (high relationship factor), ongoing commonality, unrestricted communication (high willingness to reflect).

Responsibility and participation

The lecturers jointly conceive and are responsible for the course (description of learning outcomes, creation of a syllabus, formulation of learning outcomes, choice of didactics/methods, etc.). They conduct the course together and furthermore assess (grade) the learning outcomes/successes of the students together.

The lecturers team jointly assumes responsibility for the success of the course (keyword: evaluation) and also reflects together on the success in a documenting process, the challenges of the joint course.

Funding of teaching hours

In the context of pilot phase (implementation) of Team Teaching, extra funding is available for “ teaching hours” for all staff with teaching responsibilities.

Funding for the third-party funded staff, external lecturers or other staff members of Universität Innsbruck who work as lecturers, is only possible as long as one member of the team has a contract of employment with teaching duties.

Application: Team Teaching with two lecturers

When applying for Team Teaching, per course and semester hour will be assigned two “teaching proportion hours” (thus a factor x2 of semester hours), which will be then divided equally between the two team members.

Example:

Course, 2 h, lecturer X und lecturer Y (two lecturers)

Proportion of teaching hours: 4

Lecturer X = 2 h teaching assignment

Lecturer Y = 2 h teaching assignment

The course is entered in the course data management with a total of 4 teaching hours and is also to be budgeted as such.

Exception: Assignment Team Teaching with more than two lecturers

In exceptional cases, a team can consist of more than two, but no more than six lecturers. In this case, the corresponding teaching hours are divided by the number of teachers involved and thus divided aliquot (2/x multiplied by the number of hours, where x corresponds to the number of teachers in the team).

Example:  

Course, 2 h, lecturer V, lecturer W, lecturer X, lecturer Y (four lecturers)

Proportion of teaching hours: 4

Lecturer V: 1 h teaching assignment

Lecturer W: 1 h teaching assignment

Lecturer X: 1 h teaching assignment

Lecturer Y: 1 h teaching assignment

The course is assigned a total of 4 h of teaching.

Funding

The “additional entries” for the Team Teaching (in comparison to the regular semester assignment/budgeting according to the course data management) will be financed centrally within the framework of the pilot phase. The underlying semester hour (of the “original course”) will be covered depending on the (curricular) allocation of the course either from faculty funds (approval by the dean of studies), from funds of the Vice-Rector for Student Affairs and Teaching (e.g. IGK, teaching reserve) or also from Aurora funds.

Registration in the course data management

The “additional assignments” resulting from the Team Teaching are to be documented in the course data management per lecturer/s in the context of the account assignment of the teaching performance. This also applies to lecturers with “all in” contracts.

Example:

Lecturer 2 hours: lecturer X, lecturer Y (overall commissioning with 4 hours)

Lecturer X 1 hour teaching performance account assignment in accordance with original event default

Lecturer X 1 hour teaching performance account assignment Aurora

Lecturer X total 2 hours teaching performance

Lecturer Y 1 hour teaching performance account assignment in accordance with original event default

Lecturer Y 1 hour teaching performance account assignment Aurora

Lecturer Y total 2 hours teaching performance

Monitoring

Within the pilot phase of the Aurora European Universities Alliance, the results of the reflection processes of the lecturers involved in Team Teaching, together with the (annotated) evaluation results, are to be submitted in an appropriate form to the Vice-Rector for Student Affairs and Teaching as well as to the Aurora Office after completion of the course.

 

Link-collection & Literature:

State University: Team Teaching - Advantages, Disadvantages - Teachers, Students, Teacher, and Single - StateUniversity.com

Universität Innsbruck (Schaufenster Lehre, Co-Teaching) Heydapur/Umhauer: https://www.uibk.ac.at/rektorenteam/lehre/die-lehre-seite/schaufenster/publikationen/2018-12-03-umhauer-finale-version-corr.pdf

Universität Köln: KONSTRUKTIVISMUS :: Konstruktiver Methodenpool :: Teamteaching (uni-koeln.de)

WU Wien: Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien: Team Teaching - LV-Ankündigung - Lehrorganisation & Lehrinfrastruktur (wu.ac.at)

 

Nach oben scrollen

Team Teaching

Team Teaching wird im Aurora Kontext für die Universität Innsbruck pilotiert (implementiert) und als kooperative Lehr- bzw. Lernmethode verstanden, bei der zwei oder auch mehrere Lehrende gemeinsam eine Lehrveranstaltung planen (Erstellen eines Syllabus, Formulierung der Lernergebnisse, Wahl der Didaktik/Methoden, etc.), durchführen und (die Leistung der Studierenden) bewerten. Die Lehrenden übernehmen gemeinsam die Verantwortung für das Gelingen der Lehrveranstaltung und reflektieren gemeinsam die Bewertung ihrer Lehre durch die Studierenden - Stichwort Evaluation - und ihren Beitrag zum Qualifikationsprofil der Absolvent_innen. Dieses Qualifikationsprofil wird im Rahmen des noch zu entwickelnden Aurora Competence Framework konzeptionell strukturiert und gefasst.

Die Lehrenden stammen dabei aus unterschiedlichen Aurora Universitäten, zumindest aber aus unterschiedlichen Fachrichtungen/Disziplinen der Universität Innsbruck. Dies auch um Perspektiven- und Methodenvielfalt (z.B. Theorie - Praxis), vor allem aber um Interdisziplinarität und nach Möglichkeit auch Diversität zu ermöglichen bzw. zu leben.

Gegensätzliche (fachliche) Standpunkte können Studierende zu einer aktiveren Teilnahme und zu unabhängigem Denken inspirieren, besonders wenn das Team auch hinsichtlich Geschlecht, ethnischer Herkunft und Alter ausgewogen zusammengesetzt ist.

Im Bestfall kann Team-Teaching die Stärken der beteiligten Lehrenden kombinieren und Schwächen kompensieren.

Der Einsatz von Team Teaching kann sich für Studierende insbesondere im Rahmen von Lehrveranstaltungen mit begrenzter Teilnehmer_innenzahl bzw. im Rahmen von „interaktiven“ Formaten hinsichtlich Betreuung und Lernerfolg positiv bemerkbar machen. Allerdings soll der Einsatz von Team Teaching auch in der Pilotphase (Implementierung) nicht von vorne herein auf diese Formate begrenzt werden. Die durch Team Teaching ermöglichte Diskussionskultur und die „aktivierenden Eigenschaften“ von Team Teaching erhöhen die Aufmerksamkeit bei den Studierenden und tragen damit sowohl zur Qualität der Lehre und des Lernens als auch zur Individualisierung bei.

Abgrenzung Team Teaching – Lehrveranstaltung (LV) mit mehreren Lehrenden

Die Abgrenzung von Team Teaching zu Lehrveranstaltungen (LV) mit Beteiligung von mehreren Lehrenden ist hauptsächlich dadurch gegeben, dass nachfolgende Beschreibungsmerkmale im Rahmen von Team Teaching immer erfüllt sind, Lehrveranstaltungen (LV) mit mehreren Lehrenden diese aber, falls überhaupt, nur punktuell/graduell erfüllen.

Beschreibungsmerkmal

Team Teaching

LV mit mehreren Lehrenden

Gemeinsame Konzeptionierung

     ×

Gemeinsame Durchführung & Anwesenheit

     ×

Gemeinsame Betreuung und Benotung der Studierenden

   

( )

Gemeinsame Verantwortungsübernahme für Erfolg/Misserfolg und Evaluierung der Lehrveranstaltung

   

( )

Legende:         = erfüllt     ( ) = nicht notwendiger Weise erfüllt       × = nicht erfüllt
Das Team der Lehrenden

Das Team der Lehrenden hat in der Regel aus 2 und in Ausnahmefällen aus mehr, höchstens aber aus 6 Lehrenden zu bestehen.

Die Lehrenden haben dabei aus unterschiedlichen Fakultäten, jedenfalls aber aus unterschiedlichen Fachrichtungen/Disziplinen zu stammen.

Dies auch um Perspektiven- und Methodenvielfalt (z.B. Theorie und Praxis), vor allem aber um Interdisziplinarität (Diversität) zu ermöglichen. Daher ist es auch unumgänglich, dass mit zunehmender Größe des Teams, jedenfalls aber ab 4 Lehrenden, dieses hinsichtlich sozioökonomischer bzw. –kultureller Gesichtspunkte (bspw. Geschlecht, ethnischer Herkunft, Alter) ausgewogen zusammengesetzt ist.

Anwesenheit der Lehrenden/Team-Mitglieder

Wenn das Team aus zwei Lehrenden besteht sind diese in der Regel zu 100% aller LV-Einheiten gemeinsam anwesend und führen die Lehrveranstaltung gemeinsam durch.

In den Ausnahmenfällen, in denen ein Team aus mehr als zwei Lehrenden besteht, erfolgt eine aliquote Aufteilung (2/x, x entspricht der Anzahl der Lehrenden im Team), wobei zumindest immer zwei Mitglieder des Teams im Rahmen einer LV-Einheit anwesend sein müssen.

Dies dient auf der einen Seite als (zeitliche) Basis für die Gewährleistung von Ziel- und Methodenklarheit, Aufgabenteilung, Kompetenzklärung, Beurteilungsklarheit und Regelklarheit und auf der anderen Seite als Beleg für die grundsätzliche Bereitschaft zur konstanten Zusammenarbeit (hoher Beziehungsfaktor), fortwährender Gemeinsamkeit, uneingeschränkten Kommunikation (hohe Reflexionsbereitschaft).

Verantwortung und Teilhabe

Die Lehrenden konzipieren und verantworten die Lehrveranstaltung gemeinsam (Beschreibung der Lernergebnisse, Erstellen eines Syllabus, Formulierung der Lernergebnisse, Wahl der Didaktik/Methoden, etc.). Sie führen die Lehrveranstaltung gemeinsam durch und bewerten (benoten) auch die Lernergebnisse/-erfolge der Studierenden gemeinsam.

Das Team der Lehrenden übernimmt gemeinsam die Verantwortung für das Gelingen der Lehrveranstaltung (Stichwort Evaluation) und reflektiert in einem gemeinsamen zu dokumentierendem Prozess den Erfolg, aber auch die Herausforderungen der gemeinsamen Lehrveranstaltung.

Förderung mittels Lehranteilsstunden

Im Rahmen der Pilotierung (Implementierung) von Team Teaching ist eine Förderung mittels „Lehranteilsstunden“ für alle MitarbeiterInnen mit Lehrverpflichtung möglich.

Eine Förderung für drittmittelfinanzierte MitarbeiterInnen, externe Lehrende oder andere MitarbeiterInnen der Universität Innsbruck, welche als Lehrende tätig werden, ist nur möglich, solange ein Mitglied des Teams einen Dienstvertrag mit Lehrverpflichtung hat.

Beauftragung: Team Teaching mit zwei Lehrenden

Mit der Beantragung von Team Teaching werden pro Lehrveranstaltung und Semesterstunde (SSt) zwei „Lehranteilsstunden“ beauftragt (somit ein Faktor x2 der SSt), die dann zu gleichen Teilen zwischen den beiden Teammitgliedern aufgeteilt werden.

Beispiel:

Lehrveranstaltung, 2 SSt, Lehrende X und Lehrender Y (zwei Lehrende)

Lehranteilsstunden: 4

Lehrende X = 2 SSt Lehrbeauftragung

Lehrender Y = 2 SSt Lehrbeauftragung

Die Lehrveranstaltung wird insgesamt mit 4 SSt Lehre in der Lehrdatenverwaltung eingegeben und ist auch so zu budgetieren.

Ausnahme: Beauftragung Team Teaching mit mehr als zwei Lehrenden

Im Ausnahmefall kann ein Team aus mehr als zwei, maximal aber aus sechs Lehrenden bestehen. In diesem Fall werden die entsprechenden Lehranteilsstunden durch die Anzahl der beteiligten Lehrenden dividiert und somit aliquot aufgeteilt (2/x multipliziert mit den SSt, wobei x der Anzahl der Lehrenden im Team entspricht).

Beispiel:  

Lehrveranstaltung, 2 SSt, Lehrende V, Lehrende W, Lehrender X, Lehrender Y (vier Lehrende)

Lehranteilsstunden: 4

Lehrende V: 1 SSt Lehrbeauftragung

Lehrende W: 1 SSt Lehrbeauftragung

Lehrender X: 1 SSt Lehrbeauftragung

Lehrender Y: 1 SSt Lehrbeauftragung

Die Lehrveranstaltung wird insgesamt mit 4 SSt Lehre beauftragt.

Finanzierung

Die für das Team Teaching entstehenden „Mehreintragungen“ (im Vergleich zur regelhaften SSt Beauftragung/Budgetierung gemäß Lehrdatenverwaltung) wird im Rahmen der Pilotphase zentral finanziert. Die zugrunde liegenden SSt (der „Originallehrveranstaltung“) werden abhängig von der (curricularen) Ein- bzw. Zuordnung der Lehrveranstaltung entweder aus Mitteln der Fakultät (Freigabe durch Studiendekan_in), aus Mitteln des VR Lehre & Studierende (z.B. IGK, Lehrereserve) oder ebenfalls aus Aurora Mitteln bedeckt.

Eintragung in der Lehrdatenverwaltung (LDV)

Die durch das Team Teaching entstehenden „Mehrbeauftragungen“ sind in der LDV pro Lehrende/n im Rahmen der Kontierung der Lehrleistung zu dokumentieren. Das gilt auch für Lehrende mit „all in“ Verträgen.

Beispiel:

Lehrveranstaltung 2 SSt: Lehrende X, Lehrender Y (Gesamtbeauftragung mit 4 SSt)

Lehrende X 1 SSt Lehrleistung Kontierung gem. Vorgabe für Originalveranstaltung

Lehrende X 1 SSt Lehrleistung Kontierung Aurora

Lehrende X gesamt 2 SSt Lehrleistung

Lehrende Y 1 SSt Lehrleistung Kontierung gem. Vorgabe für Originalveranstaltung

Lehrende Y 1 SSt Lehrleistung Kontierung Aurora

Lehrende Y gesamt 2 SSt Lehrleistung

Monitoring

Im Rahmen der Pilotphase der Aurora European Universities Alliance sind die Ergebnisse der Reflexionsprozesse der am Team Teaching beteiligten Lehrenden, gemeinsam mit den (kommentierten) Evaluierungsergebnissen, dem VR Lehre & Studierende sowie dem Aurora Office nach Abschluss der Lehrveranstaltung in geeigneter Form zu übermitteln.

 

Link-Sammlung & Literatur:

State University: Team Teaching - Advantages, Disadvantages - Teachers, Students, Teacher, and Single - StateUniversity.com

Universität Innsbruck (Schaufenster Lehre, Co-Teaching) Heydapur/Umhauer: https://www.uibk.ac.at/rektorenteam/lehre/die-lehre-seite/schaufenster/publikationen/2018-12-03-umhauer-finale-version-corr.pdf

Universität Köln: KONSTRUKTIVISMUS :: Konstruktiver Methodenpool :: Teamteaching (uni-koeln.de)

WU Wien: Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien: Team Teaching - LV-Ankündigung - Lehrorganisation & Lehrinfrastruktur (wu.ac.at)

 

Nach oben scrollen