Staff


Michael Strasser
Michael Strasser

Professor

Personal info and publications
phone: +43 512 507-54213
fax: +43 512 507-54399
email: michael.strasser@uibk.ac.at



Karl Krainer
Karl Krainer
Associate Professor

Personal info and publications
phone: +43 512 507-54222
fax: +43 512 507-54399
e-mail: karl.krainer@uibk.ac.at



Diethard Sanders

Diethard Sanders
Associate Professor

Personal info and publications
phone: +43 512 507-54206
fax: +43 512 507-54399
email: diethard.sanders@uibk.ac.at



Jasper

Jasper Moernaut
Assistant Professor

Personal info and publications
phone: +43 512 507-54372 
fax: +43 512 507-54399
e-mail: jasper.moernaut@uibk.ac.at

 

Postdoc


Steven Jyh-Jaan Huang

 

Jyh-Jaan 'Steven' Huang

Application and development of XRF core scanning in the field of lacustrine and marine geology (Austrian Core Facility).

phone: +43 512 507 54396
e-mail: jyh-jaan.huang@uibk.ac.at


Arata Kioka

 

Arata Kioka

Studying extreme event deposits archived in the sedimentary record offshore Japan (FWF-project: EAGER Japan)  


Personal info and publications
phone: +43 512 507-54235
e-mail: arata.kioka@uibk.ac.at



PhD Students


 Christoph Daxer
Christoph Daxer

Supervisor: Jasper Moernaut

Quantitative lacustrine paleoseismology in Carinthia, Austria: improving the Environmental Seismic Intensity Scale and assessing strong earthquake recurrence in formerly-glaciated intraplate settings (QUAKE-LAKE Project)

e-mail: christoph.daxer@uibk.ac.at


Patrick Oswald
Patrick Oswald

Supervisor: Michael Strasser

Studying the sediment archive of Tyrolian lakes to reconstruct and quantify the regions' paleoseismological history.

phone: +43 512 507-54394
e-mail: patrick.oswald@uibk.ac.at



 Franz Reiter
Franz Reiter

Supervisor: Rainer Brandner

Active tectonics in front of the Adriatic indenter.  (In collaboration with Univ.-Doz. Dr. Wolfgang Lenhardt, ZAMG, Vienna)


Personal info and publications 
phone: +43 512 507-5581
fax: +43 512 507-2914
e-mail: franz.reiter@uibk.ac.at


Markus Ribis

Markus Ribis
Supervisor: Karl Krainer

Geological-, hydrogeological and geochemical investigations of permafrost areas in the Ötztal Alps, Tyrol, Austria.


email: markus.ribis@student.uibk.ac.at

Maddalena Sammartini


Maddalena Sammartini
Supervisor: Michael Strasser

Studying submarine landslides and their impact on European continental margins (in collaboration with European Training Network SLATE). 

phone: +43 512 507 54233
e-mail: maddalena.sammartini@uibk.ac.at

Tobias Schwestermann


Tobias Schwestermann
Supervisor: Michael Strasser

Studying extreme event deposits archived in the sedimentary record offshore Japan (FWF-project: EAGER Japan

Personal info and publications 
phone: +43 512 507 54234
e-mail: tobias.schwestermann@uibk.ac.at

 

Master Students


Thomas Berberich

Supervisor: Michael Strasser

Thomas.Berberich@student.uibk.ac.at

Seismic, sediment-core and bathymetric analysis of the sedimentary infill of Lake Hallstatt, Upper Austria. (Facealps Project)



Daniel Bergmeister

Supervisor: Karl Krainer

Daniel.Bergmeister@student.uibk.ac.at

Geological and geomorphological mapping as well as water budget investigation in the Padastertal, Tyrol.

(in collaboration with Mag. Ullrich Burger, BBT-SE)


Federico Faoro

Supervisor: Rainer Brandner

Federico.Faoro@student.uibk.ac.at

Litho-, Chemo- and Magnetostratigraphy of the Werfen Formation, Dolomites and Carnic Alps.

(Contribution to the International Geoscience Programme (IGCP) 572)


Fabian Gamper

Supervisor: Karl Krainer

F.Gamper@student.uibk.ac.at

Permafrost phenomena in the Ultental - shapes, genesis and effect on the morphological development of the area.

Sebastian Gehring

Supervisor: Michael Strasser

Sebastian.Gehring@student.uibk.ac.at

Development of a structural-geological and hydrogeological model of the DGSD (deep-seated gravitational slope deformation) at Vögelsberg, Wattens, Tyrol. 

(in cooperation with WLV Austria)


Rouven Held

Supervisor: Rainer Brandner

Rouven.Held@student.uibk.ac.at

Hydrology and structural tectonics near Pustertal and Mauls fault, Fortezza/Franzensfeste.

(in collaboration with Mag. Ullrich Burger, BBT-SE)


Johannes Hildebrandt

Supervisor: Michael Strasser

Johannes.Hildebrandt@student.uibk.ac.at

Investigation of the Navis Mass Movement.

(in collaboration with „die Wildbach“ of the department of Natural Hazards)


Dominik Jaeger

Supervisor: Michael Strasser

Fabian.Jaeger@student.uibk.ac.at

OH-defects in quartz as a provenancing tool for turbidite deposits.

(in collaboration with Prof. Roland Stalder: Institute of Mineralogy and Petrology, University of Innsbruck)


Jonas Keller

Supervisor: Michael Strasser and Jasper Moernaut

Jonas.Keller@student.uibk.ac.at

Investigations on the stratigraphy of the Kumano Basin offshore East Japan.


Dominic Klackl

Supervisor: Karl Krainer

Dominic.Klackl@student.uibk.ac.at
Water management investigations and quaternary geological mapping of rockglaciers in the Eastern Alps, Hochschober-Hütte, East Tyrol.

Teresa Kogler

Supervisor: Karl Krainer

Teresa.Kogler@student.uibk.ac.at
Geological and geomorphological mapping as well as water budget investigation on the Tuxer Hauptkamm.

Moritz Liebl

Supervisor: Jasper Moernaut

Moritz.Liebl@student.uibk.ac.at

Sedimentological and geochemical studies of Hechtsee: Traces of the Great Lisbon Earthquake (AD 1755) in the sediments.



Ariana Molenaar

Supervisor: Jasper Moernaut

Ariana.Molenaar@student.uibk.ac.at

Earthquake-triggered remobilization of surficial sediments in Chilean lakes and offshore Japan. (NWF project - PI Jasper Moernaut)


Thomas Pedevilla

Supervisor: Karl Krainer

Thomas.Pedevilla@student.uibk.ac.at

Geological Mapping and Investigations of the permafrost and hydrogeology in the area of Inneres Bergli, Lareintal, Tyrol.


Aaron Rieder

Supervisor: Karl Krainer

Aaron.Rieder@student.uibk.ac.at
Investigations of the permafrost and hydrogeology in the area of Ölgrube, Ötztal Alps, Tyrol.

Georg Stückler

Supervisor: Michael Strasser

Georg.Stueckler@student.uibk.ac.at 

Pilotstudy of physical examinations on hard rock drill cores and 360º unrolled image scanning of cores.

(in collaboration with BBT-SE)


Daniel Trojok

Supervisor: Karl Krainer

Daniel.Trojok@student.uibk.ac.at
Geological and geotechnical investigations of the Blankaspitze and modelling the range of rockfall blocks


Former Group Members


Rainer Brandner
Univ. Prof. Dr. Rainer Brandner
email: Rainer.brandner@uibk.ac.at