Staff


Michael Strasser
Michael Strasser

Professor

Personal info and publications
phone: +43 512 507-54213
fax: +43 512 507-54399
email: michael.strasser@uibk.ac.at



Karl Krainer
Karl Krainer
Associate Professor

Personal info and publications
phone: +43 512 507-54222
fax: +43 512 507-54399
e-mail: karl.krainer@uibk.ac.at



Diethard Sanders

Diethard Sanders
Associate Professor

Personal info and publications
phone: +43 512 507-54206
fax: +43 512 507-54399
email: diethard.sanders@uibk.ac.at



Jasper

Jasper Moernaut
Assistant Professor

Personal info and publications
phone: +43 512 507-54372 
fax: +43 512 507-54399
e-mail: jasper.moernaut@uibk.ac.at

Hannah Braun

Hannah Braun
Lab technican

Personal info
phone: +43 512 507-54223
fax: +43 512 507-54399
e-mail: hannah.braun@uibk.ac.at

 

Postdocs


Steven Jyh-Jaan Huang

 

Jyh-Jaan 'Steven' Huang

Application and development of XRF core scanning in the field of lacustrine and marine geology (Austrian Core Facility).

Curriculum Vitae
phone: +43 512 507 54396
e-mail: jyh-jaan.huang@uibk.ac.at


Arata Kioka

 

Arata Kioka

Studying extreme event deposits archived in the sedimentary record offshore Japan (FWF-project: EAGER Japan)  


Personal info and publications
phone: +43 512 507-54235
e-mail: arata.kioka@uibk.ac.at



PhD Students


 Christoph Daxer
Christoph Daxer

Supervisor: Jasper Moernaut
Co-Supervisor: Michael Strasser

Quantitative lacustrine paleoseismology in Carinthia, Austria: improving the Environmental Seismic Intensity Scale and assessing strong earthquake recurrence in formerly-glaciated intraplate settings (QUAKE-LAKE Project)

e-mail: christoph.daxer@uibk.ac.at


Jana Molenaar


Ariana Molenaar
Supervisor: Jasper Moernaut
Co-Supervisor: Michael Strasser

Assessing seismic intensity using lacustrine sediments: improving the Environmental Seismic Intensity (ESI) scale  (FWF Project: QUAKE-LAKE Carinthia). 

phone: +43 512 507 54232
e-mail: ariana.molenaar@uibk.ac.at

Patrick Oswald
Patrick Oswald

Supervisor: Jasper Moernaut
Co-Supervisor: Michael Strasser

Studying the sediment archive of Tyrolian lakes to reconstruct and quantify the regions' paleoseismological history.

phone: +43 512 507-54394
e-mail: patrick.oswald@uibk.ac.at


Maddalena Sammartini


Maddalena Sammartini
Supervisor: Michael Strasser
Co-Supervisor: Jasper Moernaut

Studying submarine landslides and their impact on European continental margins (in collaboration with European Training Network SLATE). 

phone: +43 512 507 54233
e-mail: maddalena.sammartini@uibk.ac.at

Tobias Schwestermann


Tobias Schwestermann
Supervisor: Michael Strasser
Co-Supervisors: Jasper Moernaut and Tim Eglinton (ETH Zürich)

Studying extreme event deposits archived in the sedimentary record offshore Japan (FWF-project: EAGER Japan

Personal info and publications 
phone: +43 512 507 54234
e-mail: tobias.schwestermann@uibk.ac.at

Affiliated PhD Students


Andrea Franco
Andrea Franco

Supervisor: Bernhard Gems (Wasserbau)

Co-supervisors: Michael Strasser and Jasper Moernaut

Wave formation, propagation and run-up in natural mountain lakes from a cascade hazards perspective – analyses and modelling of triggering processes, lake’s morpho-dynamics and potential downstream hazard effects.

phone: +43 512 507 62217
e-mail: Andrea.Franco@uibk.ac.at



Master Students


Nicolas Bader

Supervisor: Ulrich Burger and Michael Strasser

Nicolas.Bader@student.uibk.ac.at

Study of the massmovement at Padastertal, Sterzing

Thomas Berberich

Supervisor: Michael Strasser

Thomas.Berberich@student.uibk.ac.at

Seismic, sediment-core and bathymetric analysis of the sedimentary infill of Lake Hallstatt, Upper Austria (Facealps Project)



Daniel Bergmeister

Supervisor: Karl Krainer

Daniel.Bergmeister@student.uibk.ac.at

Geological and geomorphological mapping as well as water budget investigation in the Padastertal, Tyrol

(in collaboration with Mag. Ullrich Burger, BBT-SE)

Fabian Gamper

Supervisor: Karl Krainer

F.Gamper@student.uibk.ac.at

Permafrost phenomena in the Ultental - shapes, genesis and effect on the morphological development of the area

Sebastian Gehring

Supervisor: Michael Strasser

Sebastian.Gehring@student.uibk.ac.at

Development of a structural-geological and hydrogeological model of the DGSD (deep-seated gravitational slope deformation) at Vögelsberg, Wattens, Tyrol

(in cooperation with WLV Austria)


Markus Geier

Supervisor: Ulrich Burger and Michael Strasser

Markus.Geier@student.uibk.ac.at

Study of the massmovement at Padastertal, Sterzing

Rouven Held

Supervisor: Rainer Brandner

Rouven.Held@student.uibk.ac.at

Hydrology and structural tectonics near Pustertal and Mauls fault, Fortezza/Franzensfeste

(in collaboration with Mag. Ullrich Burger, BBT-SE)


Jonas Keller

Supervisor: Michael Strasser and Arata Kioka

Jonas.Keller@student.uibk.ac.at

Investigations on the stratigraphy of the Kumano Basin offshore East Japan


Dominic Klackl

Supervisor: Karl Krainer

Dominic.Klackl@student.uibk.ac.at
Water management investigations and quaternary geological mapping of rockglaciers in the Eastern Alps, Hochschober-Hütte, East Tyrol

Moritz Liebl

Supervisor: Jasper Moernaut

Moritz.Liebl@student.uibk.ac.at

Sedimentological and geochemical studies of Hechtsee: Traces of the Great Lisbon Earthquake (AD 1755) in the sediments.


Marcel Ortler

Supervisor: Jasper Moernaut

Marcel-Luciano.Ortler@student.uibk.ac.at

Reconstruction of historical flood events based on sediment deposits in the Millstättersee, Carinthia.


Thomas Pedevilla

Supervisor: Karl Krainer

Thomas.Pedevilla@student.uibk.ac.at

Geological Mapping and Investigations of the permafrost and hydrogeology in the area of Inneres Bergli, Lareintal, Tyrol


Georg Stückler

Supervisor: Michael Strasser

Georg.Stueckler@student.uibk.ac.at 

Pilotstudy of physical examinations on hard rock drill cores and 360º unrolled image scanning of cores

(in collaboration with BBT-SE)


Sebastian Titzler

Supervisor: Jasper Moernaut

Sebastian.Titzler@student.uibk.ac.at

Seismic-stratigraphic analysis of the deglaciation and depositional history of the Achensee, Tyrol

(Co-supervisors: Christoph Spötl (Quaternary Research Group), Patrick Oswald)



Former Group Members


Rainer Brandner
Univ. Prof. Dr. Rainer Brandner

e-mail: Rainer.Brandner@uibk.ac.at