Universität Innsbruck



Innsbruck Summer School of Alpine Research 2022

Close Range Sensing Techniques in Alpine Terrain

Obergurgl (Austria), 18.9.2022 - 24.9.2022

University of Innsbruck, Faculty of Geo- and Atmospheric Sciences
International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS)

Objectives: The main goal of the Summer School 2022 is to provide participants with innovative practical and methodological skills to characterize complex terrain and object features using close range and remote sensing techniques. The Summer School will be the fourth edition after three successful implementations in 2015, 2017, and 2019.
Target Audience: This summer school is designed for any well-motivated student; advanced graduate students, PhDs, post-docs and young researchers from any field, provided they have interest in these type of techniques.
Confirmed Keynotes:
How to join? Please register by e-mail (alpine-research-2022@uibk.ac.at) until 31st January 28th of February, 2022. Each applicant is requested to send (i) a short motivation letter, (ii) a one page CV and (iii) an abstract of the participants’ current work (see template here). This information will be used by the organizational committee to decide which candidates will be accepted.
When & Where? 18.9.2022 - 24.9.2022, Obergurgl University Center (Obergurgl, Austria)
Website: http://www.uibk.ac.at/geographie/summerschool/
Participation fee: 500 € (includes accommodation, breakfast and dinner)
Important dates:

Registration deadline 31st January 28th of February 2022
Communication of final decision of acceptance 15th February 15th of March 2022
Deadline for full payment 28th February 31st of March 2022
Travel Support: Approved participants from universities of the AURORA European Universities Alliance can apply for travel cost funding at their home institution.
Teaching Methods: Theoretical lectures will be complemented by fieldwork assignments and hands-on data processing sessions using different novel software. The assignments will be divided into two different tracks, one focusing on mountain research, the other on sensor and data processing techniques.

A variety of sensor systems will be available for data acquisition in the high mountain surroundings of the summer school venue, including terrestrial laser scanners, remotely piloted aircraft systems and spectral cameras.

A poster session on the participants' current research interests and work will stimulate open exchange and discussion between students and lecturers in a relaxed atmosphere.

Thematic focus will be on mountain research including geomorphology, vegetation characterization and natural hazard research.

Technical focus will be on sensor and data aspects, such as sensor modelling, calibration, data acquisition, 2D and 3D data fusion, methods for information extraction from point clouds and (multispectral) images and data quality assessment.

Theoretical focus will address critical steps within a processing chain, such as impact of registration, choice of stand points during data acquisition and derivation of deformation vectors, change detection, time series analysis, issues related to multispectral image analysis, etc.

Practical exercises using predominantly open source software, deepen the conveyed knowledge and help all participants establish a workflow for their research.
Venue: The Summer School will take place in and around Obergurgl, at almost 2000 m the highest village in Austria. The main venue is the Obergurgl University Center. Here lectures will take place and accommodation is provided to all participants. Directions will be available via the website. Please note that fieldwork will take place in a mountainous environment, which requires surefootedness.
View of the Obergurgl University Center
Logo Riegl Logo Laserdata Logo Alpine Forschungsstelle Logo DMT Logo Alterra Logo Trimble
  • Martin Rutzinger (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
  • Katharina Anders (Heidelberg University, Germany)
  • Magnus Bremer (Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria)
  • Anette Eltner (Technische Universität Dresden, Germany)
  • Bernhard Höfle (Heidelberg University, Germany)
  • Roderik Lindenbergh (TU Delft, The Netherlands)
  • Andreas Mayr (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
  • Sander Oude Elberink (University of Twente - ITC, The Netherlands)
  • Francesco Pirotti (CIRGEO - University of Padova, Italy)
  • Marco Scaioni (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
  • Thomas Zieher (Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria)

Logo Uni Heidelberg Logo Uni ITC Logo Uni Padova
Logo Uni TU Delft Logo Uni TU Dresden

Summerschool homepage

Nach oben scrollen