Innsbruck Doctoral College Natural Hazards in Mountain Regions


assoz. Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Bernhard Gems (Department of Infrastructure, Unit for Hydraulic Engineering)

Deputy Head

Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Barbara Schneider-Muntau (Department of Infrastructure, Unit for Geotechnical and Tunnel Engineering)

Representative Student

Tobias Schwestermann, MSc


Since the beginning of humankind and with a continuous increase of experience and scientific knowledge, humans try to cope with natural hazards and mitigate their impacts. Unlike technological or human-made hazards, natural hazards are naturally occuring physical phenomena, threatening human lives and infrastructure. Facing the environmental conditions in mountain regions, different forms of geophysical natural hazards occur. They are classified in geological and meteorological (hydrological) processes.

The DP focuses on all relevant natural scientific, engineering, demographic, economic and management aspects in the context of analysing geophysical natural hazards in mountain regions as well as handling risks and developing solutions for protection.As natural hazards in mountain regions cover biological, geographical, geological, geotechnical, hydraulic, hydrological, meteorological, and socio-economic issues, an interdisciplinary research approach for the hazards assessment, modelling, etc. is essential. The DP focuses on, both, more general pressing questions as well as on research challenges. Thinking and acting in interdisciplinary cross-boundary domains, where knowledge and expertise is transferred over boundaries between classical natural and engineering science as well as between natural and social science disciplines, is of basic relevance.

The DP aims to provide a systematic, efficient and high-quality training of excellent PhD students within an interdisciplinary research environment. PhD students are pushed to extend their research interests, to recognize and develop correlations and interfaces with other research disciplines and foci, and to present their research in a broader context. Activities cover academic topics as well as the training of soft skills and career planning. The DP is further aimed to be a fruitful platform for the members to discuss, propose and work on common interdisciplinary research issues and thereby also cooperate with external national and international research institutions.

Faculty Members

Faculty of Economics and Statistics

> Department of Public Finance

  • o. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Hannelore Weck-Hannemann

Faculty of Engineering Sciences

> Department of Infrastructure, Unit of Environmental Engineering

  • assoz. Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Manfred Kleidorfer
  • Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Wolfgang Rauch
  • assoz. Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Robert Sitzenfrei

> Department of Infrastructure, Unit of Geotechnical and Tunnel Engineering

  • Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Wolfgang Fellin
  • Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Barbara Schneider-Muntau

> Department of Infrastructure, Unit of Hydraulic Engineering

  • assoz. Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Stefan Achleitner
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Markus Aufleger
  • assoz. Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Bernhard Gems

> Department of Infrastructure, Unit of Intelligent Transport Systems

  • Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Markus Mailer

 Faculty of Geo- and Atmospheric Sciences

> Department of Geography

  • Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Karl-Michael Höferl
  • Mag. Dr. Gertraud Meißl
  • PD Mag. Dr. Martin Rutzinger
  • Dr. Rudolf Sailer
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Johann Stötter

> Department of Geology

  • Dr. Rainer Brandner
  • Dr. Luke Gliganic
  • Dr. Michael Meyer
  • Dr. Jasper Moernaut
  • Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Hugo Ortner
  • Mag. Dr. Marc-André Ostermann
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Michael Strasser

 Student Board

  • Katharina Baumgartner
  • Christoph Daxer
  • Christine Fey
  • Andrea Franco
  • Stephan Fuhrmann
  • Michael Holzmann
  • Andreas Huber
  • Sinah Kilian
  • Adrian Lindermuth
  • Simon Lumassegger
  • Andreas Mayr
  • Patrick Oswald
  • Jan Pfeiffer
  • Hannah Prantl
  • Matthias Rauter
  • Maddalena Sammartini
  • Korbinian Schmidtner
  • Fabian Schranz
  • Tobias Schwestermann
  • Michael Sturm
  • Tanja Vonach
  • Benjamin Winter
  • Jonatan Zischg


Is part of: Research Area Mountain Regions

Logo Förderkreis 1669

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Brigitta Erschbamer
Nach oben scrollen