10-013 Deleting Course Contents
In general, you can delete everything that you can add into OpenOlat.
Courses and learning paths are of course special cases (for further information see HelpCard 10-090).
In this HelpCard you will learn how to delete learning resources, course elements and the contents of them.
Deleting course elements and learning resources in the course editor
- Open the course and access Administration followed by Course editor.
- In order to delete whole course elements, click on the desired course element to the left in the course structure, then click on the Delete button to the right. The course element will be deleted permanently as soon as you publish the changes.
- Alternatively, you can exchange/transfer or edit the learning resources employed in course elements. Further information on how to do this you will find in the relevant HelpCards in 30_Course Elements and Learning Resources.
- After you have made the desired changes, click onto the red X in the upper right-hand corner to reach the course view once more.
Deleting contents or entries in a course element
For some course elements deletion of content and/or making changes to course elements can happen outside the course editor. Here you can find several examples of this:
- Delete files in a Folder by selecting the Folder, tick the box to the left of the file that you would like to delete and then click Delete at the bottom of the page.
- Delete events in the Calendar by selecting on the event that you would like to delete, then click on Edit and lastly the Delete this entry button.
- Delete forum entries by choosing the course element Forum, then click on the relevant thread and the posting that you would like to delete. Click Delete below the posting.
- Delete messages by choosing the course element Notifications and Delete below the relevant message.
- Delete blog entries by choosing the course element Blog and Delete below the relevant entry.
Deleting learning resources in the Authoring section
- Access Authoring, then select My entries and subsequently select Delete in the three dots menu to the right of the learning resource.
- Deleted learning resources will be stored as Trash, but can still be found in the Authoring area in the Deleted tab. You can restore a deleted learning resource by clicking on the three dots menu to the right of the resource and selecting Restore.
Problems or questions?
Phone: +43 512 507-23555
Mail to email@example.com
The University of Innsbruck values gender-sensitive formulations. In OpenOlat, the generic masculine is currently still used. References to OpenOlat specific terms are therefore adopted directly for the sake of clarity.
Please note: it may happen that the English HelpCards are not up to date. Should you find discrepancies with the functions in OpenOlat, please refer to the German version of the HelpCard.
OpenOlat HelpCards by Universität Innsbruck: Digitale Medien und Lerntechnologien and Hochschule Furtwangen: Learning Services is licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0