20-040 Rights-groups

Overview

To extend the rights of (Group) Coaches and (Group) Participants, you can create so-called Rights-groups and extend the rights to members of these groups. A group of tutors can for example be assigned the right to manage the members of the course with access to the Members management.

Important Steps

  1. Open your course via Authoring.

  2. Open Administration and choose Members management. Members management opens. 

  3. Next, choose Groups in the menu to the left. A list of all groups in the course is displayed. 

  4. To avoid confusion, create a new group and give it a unique name (for example Tutors) Click on Create group. The ‘Create a new group’ window opens. 

  5. Choose a name for the group and click Finish. The new group is displayed. 

  6. Click on the red X in the upper right-hand corner to close the group. The new group is now shown in the group list. 

  7. Choose Rights in the navigation to the left. A list of all course groups and their allocated rights is displayed. You possibly need to close and reopen the Members management section to update the view. The rights you can assign to groups are listed at the top of the table (for example Group management, Course editor...).

  8. Find the created group and select the rights to be allocated to Coaches and/or Participants. Save your changes.

  9. Choose Members in the navigation to the left in order to add Participants to the new group. A list of all members opens. If the user isn't a course member yet, you need to add her/him first (see HelpCard 20-020).

  10. Look for the user in the Members list and click on their name.

  11. In order to add one or more persons to the group, select their names with a tick and click Edit at the bottom of the page. The ‘Edit members’ window opens. 

  12. Choose the respective Rights-group (e.g. Tutors) in the list of Group memberships and tick the desired role, confirm your changes with OK and decide if you would like to send an E-Mail-notification. The selected users have now been assigned the additional rights.

  13. Click on the red X in the upper right-hand corner to close the Members management window.

Nach oben scrollen