Organization and Contact

The Digital Science Center (DiSC) is an interfaculty organizational unit with its own staff and resources. Additionally, it classifies as a Research Area and therefore fulfils a double role. The DiSC is firmly embedded in the university's research system consisting of Research Areas, Research Platforms, and Research Centers. It has thus far established a formal affiliation with the Research Center Digital Humanities, which has significant overlaps with the DiSC in terms of subject matter and participating researchers.

Please note: The DiSC is not a service provider. If you need IT services or technical support (i.e. to set up a server or a database), please contact Information Technology Services (ZID). If you want to learn more about high-performance computing, you will find detailed information on the website of the Research Area Scientific Computing.

Prof. Justus Piater, PhD

Deputy Head
Prof. Adam Jatowt, PhD

Contact for enquiries about strategy, goals, and research

Associate Dean of Studies
Dr. Joanna Chimiak-Opoka

Contact for questions about teaching

Carina König, M.A.

Contact for administrative requests


* The DiSC leadership is advised by two boards:

The DiSC Advisory Board must be convened once per semester to debate internal matters. It is a formal body of consultation established pursuant to §11(2) organization plan, consisting of all DiSC employees with a long-term contract as well as student representatives.

To include external perspectives from the Rectorate and the faculties, an informal Communication and Advisory Board was also established. Its members are: 

Name Function/Faculty
Sexl, Veronika Rector
Häntschel-Erhart, Irene Vize-Rector for Digitalization and Sustainability
Fügenschuh, Bernhard Vize-Rector for Student Affairs and Teaching
Schinegger, Kristina Faculty of Architecture
Illmer, Paul Faculty of Biology
Eckhardt, Andreas Faculty of Business and Management
Dormandy, Katherine Faculty of Catholic Theology
Liedl, Klaus Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy
Zeileis, Achim Faculty of Economics and Statistics
Biermann, Julia Faculty of Educational Sciences
Ußmüller, Thomas Faculty of Engineering Sciences
Mayr, Georg Faculty of Geo- and Atmospheric Sciences
Rampl, Gerhard Faculty of Language, Literature, Culture
Augenhofer, Susanne Faculty of Law
Kaliszyk, Cezary Faculty of Mathematics, Computer Science and Physics
Rupnow, Dirk Faculty of Philosophy and History
Viviani, Roberto Faculty of Psychology and Sport Science
Senn, Martin Faculty of Social and Political Sciences
Stampfer, Florian Faculty of Teacher Education


Nach oben scrollen