Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (RBGK)

Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (RBGK)The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (RBGK) is the world leader in the taxonomy, systematics and conservation of plants. Its ca. 200 scientists are distributed across three main scientific directorates and seven thematic areas. Staff currently co-supervise about 100 PhD, masters and undergraduate students through links with a number of UK and overseas universities. The institute is a non-departmental public body of the UK Government’s Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA), which ensures that it has the resources to meet its statutory obligations, and is accountable to parliament for those resources. RBGK produces work of a high scientific quality and impact as required by the 1983 National Heritage Act, and provides direct advice to the government on international conventions and policies on the environment. Kew’s mission statement is "To inspire and deliver science-based plant conservation worldwide, enhancing the quality of life".

The Seed Conservation Department (SCD) is home to the Millennium Seed Bank, the world’s largest facility devoted to the seed banking of wild species, currently holding over 30,000 species and ca. 2 billion seeds.

Prof. Dr. Hugh W. Pritchard (lead partner)
Dr. Louise Colville
Dr. Charlotte Seal